Pakistan Team ODI World Cup 2023 Players List, Captain, Match Dates

Read this article about the Pakistan Team ODI World Cup 2023 Players List, Captain, Match Dates, and other interesting facts. The ODI World Cup is around the corner, and all the qualified teams are geared up for it, and so is Pakistan. Let’s discuss the Pakistan Team ODI World Cup 2023 and more for the upcoming World Cup.

Pakistan Team ODI World Cup 2023

ODI is a form of cricket wherein the teams compete against each other in international tournaments. There is a fixed number of overs in ODI, which currently is 50, which takes approximately nine hours to conclude. The ODI World Cup is held almost every four years. It is also known as One Day Internationals.

Pakistan won the ODI World Cup only once, in 1992, when they defeated England. Pakistan is one of the favourites in this tournament and also is ranked no. 1 in the international ODI ranking. With India as the host, Pakistan will get home-like conditions to play in, which might be favourable for them.

Pakistan Team ODI World Cup Players List

The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced the final list of players who will be part of the Pakistan team for this World Cup. Pakistan has some of the best batsmen, like Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, and Imam-ul-Haq, among others. The bowlers to watch out for in the Pakistan team are Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz and more.

Pakistan Team ODI World Cup

Other players in the PK ODI World Cup are Mohammad Wasim Jr., Abdullah Shafique, Hassan Ali, Agha Salman, Usama Mir, Saud Shakeel, and Iftikhar Ahmed. From this list of players, we can see the highly talented list of fast bowlers along with the top-ranking batters that the Pakistan team has.

Pakistan Team ODI World Cup Captain 2023

Tournament ODI World Cup 2023
Team Pakistan
Overs 50
Frequency Every four years
Captain Babar Azam
Vice Captain Shadab Khan
Tournament Commencement Date 5th October 2023
Last Date 19th November 2023
Host India
Countries Pakistan, S. Africa, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Australia, Afghanistan and Bangladesh

Pakistan Team ODI World Cup matches 2023

The captain of the Pakistan team ODI World Cup is Babar Azam. The credit of the best batsman in the team goes to Babar. He is a right-handed batsman. The 28-year-old cricketer is ranked well in all the formats of cricket. He is currently at no. 1 in the ODI format, while in T20 and test, he is ranked at 3rd and 4th position respectively in international cricket.

In the previous World Cup in 2019, Babar Azam scored a total of 474 runs, with the highest being 101 not out. Hence, he will certainly have raised expectations from his fans to perform well in the World Cup and take the team ahead in the competition.

PAK ODI World Cup Match Dates 2023

The ICC has fixed the match dates for the ODI World Cup 2023. India is hosting this year’s World Cup. The match will take place in cities like Ahmedabad, Delhi, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Dharamsala, Chennai, Lucknow, Bengaluru, Pune, and Mumbai.

The matches for the Pakistan Team ODI World Cup will commence on 6th October 2023, when they will play against the Netherlands. In total, Pakistan will play nine league matches. On 10th October, Pakistan will face Sri Lanka. The most awaited match between India and Pakistan is on 14th October. Pakistan will then play against Australia, Afghanistan, S. Africa, and Bangladesh on the 20th, 23rd, 27th, and 31st October; and New Zealand and England on the 4th and 11th November respectively.

Suppose Pakistan qualifies according to the points scored by them in the league matches. In that case, they will play the semi-final match either on 15th or 16th November. The final match for the ODI World Cup will take place on 19th November 2023 in Ahmedabad.

ODI World Cup Countries 2023

There are a total of 10 teams: Pakistan, S. Africa, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Australia, Afghanistan and Bangladesh. The 2023 World Cup will be a first where we will not get to see West Indies in action.

The ICC has given certain countries the ODI status. These countries include Australia, West Indies, Zimbabwe, England, India, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Pakistan, South Africa and Ireland.

The latest additions to this list are Afghanistan and Ireland, which were included in 2017. Along with these, there are a few countries with temporary ODI status, such as Scotland, the USA, Namibia, UAE, Papua New Guinea, Nepal, Oman, and the Netherlands.

Home Page

Leave a Comment